All Grants, Arts Grants, Rolling Grants

Ezra Jack Keats Foundation

The EJK New Writer Award was established in 1985 to encourage and celebrate up-and-coming authors of picture books written in the tradition of Keats­—that is, with original, well-told stories that reflect the universal qualities of childhood and the multicultural nature of our world. The goal is to help writers continue to create outstanding picture books for a diverse audience. The New Illustrator Award was added in 2001 to reward originality of artistic expression as well.

Eligibility: A person who has had no more than three books published.

Award: The award includes a prize of $3,000 for each winner.

Deadline: The deadline for submission is December 31.


More Information: Click Here